Working Mama Spotlight on Ashley Papke

Name: Ashley Papke

Where are you from: Born in Oklahoma and raised in Charleston, SC for 22 years

Where do you live now: Anderson, Indiana since May of 2018

Career: I've managed multiple businesses ranging from movie theaters, body piercing and tattoo shops, and restaurants to providing private care for mentally handicapped adults and children. I've found myself sticking with pizza over the last few years. Currently, I am a Multi-Unit Manager for Papa Murphy’s.

Family life: I've bee married to my husband, Allen, for ten years. We have three wild and beautiful girls: Riley, 6, Piper Ann, 5, and Lyla Emerson, 3. We also raise chickens, and have 2 cats.

Read More
Here Comes Halloween

My absolute favorite holiday is Halloween. I can't get enough of the scary decor, movies, music and fun. It was also the day I found out I was pregnant with Baby #1 and was on my way to motherhood.

One of my favorite memories of my childhood in Indy was volunteering at the The Children’s Museum’s Haunted House. The theme was some kind of scary trip around the world and I got to be a werewolf who jumped out from behind the Union Jack while “Werewolves of London” was playing in the background. .

Here are some ideas that our family enjoys . . . cheers to a wonderfully scary Halloween to all the working mamas in Indy!

Read More
One Simple Question to Uncover your Unique Value for your Job Search

Being unique is hard. Take it from the frog.

After spreading out our library book haul recently, my three-year-old son and I read book after

plastic-covered book. At the bottom of the pile was Dev Petty's, "I Don't Want To Be A Frog"

which is about, you guessed it, a frog exclaiming he doesn't want to be a frog! Instead, he wants

to be a whole host of other animals with their unique capabilities. The frog thinks he is too wet,

too slimy and too full of bugs.But you know what? The story ends with his three unique features saving his

life from a big, hairy wolf looking for lunch!

Read More
Working Mama Spotlight on Desta Ntamere

Name: Desta Ntamere

Where are you from: Westport, IN (a very small town in southeastern Indiana)

Where do you live now: Indianapolis

Education: I graduated from Indiana State University with a Bachelor's of Science in Interior Design

Career: I am an Interior Designer. I have my own company now, but have been in the industry for 15 years. I enjoy helping people find peace and beauty in their home!

Family life: I am a married momma of 3 boys. They are 14, 9, and 5. The oldest started high school this year, and the youngest started Kindergarten!! That was a lot for my momma heart to handle!

Read More
Working Mama Spotlight on Meg Applegate

Name: Meg Applegate

Where are you from: Granger, IN

Where do you live now: Indianapolis, IN

Education: I'm a Hoosier through and through. Both my bachelor's and master's degrees are from Indiana University (B.S. in Public Affairs & M.S.Ed in Higher Education).

Career: I am a certified resume writer and job search coach (aka a career matchmaker). I fell in love with career development/counseling in 2009 and have been practicing in varying roles ever since! I am the owner and founder of Hinge Resume Collaborative, a resume writing service that opens doors.

Read More
Working Mama Spotlight on Liz Gumbel Duvall

Name: Liz Gumbel Duvall

Where are you from: Indianapolis, IN

Where do you live now: Indianapolis, IN

Education: Cathedral High School + 1 year at Ball State

Career: Bookkeeper for HVAF {local non profit that supports hoosier veterans experiencing homelessness}, Director of Partnerships for theCityMoms, & Content Creator + CEO of TheIndyMommy {Indianapolis Social Media based Lifestyle Brand}

Read More
Working Mama Spotlight on Laura Meeks

Name: Laura Meeks

Where do you live now: Noblesville, IN

Career: I am the owner of Leap Virtual Assisting, LLC. We specialize in administrative work for entrepreneurs and small to medium size businesses.

Family life: I have been married to the love of my life for 14 years now. We have three daughters and one dog.

Favorite family fun spot/activity: Family time is very important to us. Our favorite things to do as a family is head to a local park and have a picnic and play the day away.

Read More
Working Mama Spotlight on Tahwii Spicer

Where are you from: I was born in Indianapolis, IN, but grew up all over the country. 

Where do you live nowI returned to Indianapolis, IN in high school and have been her since.

Education: I attended I.U. and IUPUI to become a nurse and even briefly attend The Art Institute of Indianapolis for digital photography before deciding to forge my own path. So I'm a college drop-out and proud of it.

Read More