Working Mama Spotlight on Carly Grennes

The Grennes Family

The Grennes Family

Where are you from: Hershey, PA

Where do you live now: Meridian Hills

Education: BS in Psychology from James Madison University and a MS in College Student Personnel from Miami University (OH)

Career: I'm the Associate Direct of Academic Advising for the Kelley School of Business at IUPUI. I've been in this role just over 2 years. I work with undergraduate business students to help them choose a major and plan their academics, along with study abroad, internships, and other college opportunities. I supervise three other academic advisors. Prior to this role I was an academic advisor in the same office for five years. I also worked for the Kelley School at IU Bloomington for two years, immediately out of grad school.

Family life: I've been married to my husband Bobby for six years. We have a three year old named Jack, an eight month old named Evelyn, and a cat named Reese.

Favorite Indy Eats: Brugge, Patachou, Bluebeard, BRICS 

Favorite family fun spot/activity: We spend a lot of time at the zoo, the Children's Museum, and Holliday Park & Nature Center. We also love the JCC pool.

Favorite "me-time" activity: When I get some me-time I like to read, binge some shows, and nap. (And now- wander around IKEA!) I also have some random side hobbies- painting furniture and making homemade water kefir. 

What are you reading right now ? I'm (slowly) reading the book Eat Dirt, by Dr. Josh Axe. It's a non fiction book about the importance of good bacteria in our lives. I've been on a bit of a natural health kick lately. I also like the Wellness Mama blog. 

Best Mom Moment: Hopefully raising two kind, thoughtful, curious kids

Career Highlight(s): I've been nominated by my students for IUPUI Advisor of the Year several times, and last year I was awarded Advising Administrator of the Year Honorable Mention

What you love about being a Hoosier? As a Hoosier by marriage, not by birth, it did take me awhile to get used to living in the Midwest! But I like the friendly people, affordable living, and proximity to lots of other fun cities to visit. 

As a child, what did you want to be when you grow up? a Marine Biologist

Where you want to be in 10 years? Great question! Probably still working in higher education in some capacity, maybe teaching. I'd love to continue in a flexible role that allows me to be involved in my kids' school and activities. And hopefully getting more sleep than I do now! 

My biggest mistake: Probably putting too much pressure on myself, both at work and at home. We're all just doing the best we can at any given moment!

Career/Parenting advice you would like to share with other working mamas: Don't be afraid to ask for what you want- the worst they can say is no. After my son was born I wanted to come back part time. So I asked, and my supervisor approved me to work 20-25 hours a week. When he was about 18 months old I felt ready to take on more responsibility, so I applied for the Associate Director role and negotiated to only work 30 hours a week. This has been the perfect compromise for me to stay at a job I enjoy and also get to spend a bit more time with my kids.