Working Mama Spotlight on Kathy Hankins

034 Family photo.JPG

Where are you from: Lancaster, Kentucky (small town of about 4,000 located in the heart of the state)

Where do you live now: Shelbyville

Education: Bachelor of Business Administration, emphasis in Accounting – Eastern Kentucky University

Career: Budget Director at Butler University – I’ve been at Butler for just shy of 14 years ( my work anniversary is 2/16) and have been in the Budget Director position for the entirety of my career at the university. My position is responsible for the oversight of the entire University budget, in both development and administration. I hold formal and ad-hoc budget training sessions as needed for the various divisions across the university. I also administer the University’s contingency fund, perform budget analyses, complete budget changes, and develop/document policies and procedures where necessary. In recent years, I have also taken on additional responsibilities related to the fiscal management of pre- and post-grant awards at the University – both internal and external. In this capacity, I help prepare and review grant budgets before they are submitted to funders and provide financial oversight on approved awards. I set up the funding in our financial system, review/approve expenditures, and prepare financial reports to be sent to the funding agencies. In my “free” time, I am also a consultant for both Thirty-One Gifts and Creative Memories.

Family life: Married since 7/15/2010 to my wonderful husband Michael; stepmom to two amazing kids – Maddy, 19 and Jasper, 14; mom to two rambunctious boys – Keegan, 6 and Jaxson, 3. We also have six horses, a Great Dane (Riley), and a cat (Zeebee).

Favorite Indy Eats: Bru Burger, La Piedad, New Bethel Ordinary

Favorite family fun spot/activity: We spend a LOT of time at The Children’s Museum and Indianapolis Zoo. We also like to go camping and horseback riding when we can.

IMG_0067.jpg

Favorite "me-time" activity: Scrapbooking!! I love the time spent with friends and looking at old pictures while I document our memories.

What are you reading right now? Honestly, I’m reading a lot of first reader stories with my oldest son as part of his first grade experience. Other than that, I haven’t had much time for “adult” reading…lol

Best Mom Moment: The birth of my children! Prior to my oldest son’s birth, I had suffered three miscarriages so to be able to carry my two boys to term and deliver them has been nothing short of miraculous to me.

Career Highlight(s): Filling in for my supervisor for two months while he was on sabbatical while still fulfilling the responsibilities of my position as well.

What you love about being a Hoosier? As a transplant Hoosier, it took me a while to warm up to the state. I do love the friendliness of everyone and how they are willing to help out when needed. I also love being able to attend various sporting events (Colts, Indians, Pacers, Indy 500) that are basically right outside of my door!

As a child, what did you want to be when you grow up? A teacher! I used to line all of my stuffed animals up and use my chalkboard to “teach” lessons to them.

Where you want to be in 10 years? I hope to still be working at Butler in a financial position (and continuing to cheer on the Bulldogs)! I also look forward to watching my kids grow up and become their own person…and perhaps becoming a grandmother if my stepdaughter or stepson get married and start families of their own!

My biggest mistake: Always being too hard on myself as a mom! I have finally begun to embrace the fact that I can’t do everything/be everywhere. Instead, I try to make the most of the time that I am able to spend with my family to make the best memories/experiences possible!

Career/Parenting advice you would like to share with other working mamas: Never give up! Not that I would ever want anyone to experience the pain/loss of miscarriage, but don’t despair – there is a plan in place for you even if you can’t see it at the time. Also, don’t be afraid of change. I never expected to have stepchildren or to live in the country with horses on our land but I wouldn’t trade either for anything in the world.

Connect with Kathy . . .

LinkedIn

https://www.mythirtyone.com/KathyHankins

http://www.creativememories.com/user/KathyHankins