Working Mama Spotlight on Kelly Hage

IMG_6501.jpg

Where are you from: I grew up in New Jersey, went to college in North Carolina, and then moved to Indianapolis to work for my sorority. I found my Hoosier husband while in Broad Ripple and ended up staying here!

Where do you live now: We just bought a home in the Lawrence area.

Education: BA in Communications and Art from Elon University in NC

Career: When I moved to Indianapolis, I worked for my sorority (Sigma Kappa.) I had a series of jobs that were not a great fit, mostly in nonprofits and administration, until I found my first job with Stanley Security (now BEST Access Solutions, a division of dormakaba, following their acquisition of Stanley’s mechanical division last February.) I started off doing returns and credits in their customer service department and absolutely loved it. In 2012 my husband accepted a job at Disney World, and I accepted a remote position with Stanley, as a keying specialist for Florida. My job’s evolved and grown, and though we’ve returned to the great state of Indiana, I still work remotely from home, and represent our southeastern region. I design customers' keying systems, which designates how their access control works in their mechanical locksets."

Family life: We were pug people for years prior to having kids, with three- Dixie, Sophie, and Harley. We were married March 20, 2010 at First Meridian Heights Presbyterian Church, with a small reception at the downtown Buca di Beppo. Our pugs got dressed up for our wedding pictures too! We initially lived in So Bro and then Carmel until we moved to Orlando in 2012. While in Orlando, we had two daughters, Effie (2013) and Isabel “Izzie” (2015.) It was a very hard transition for us- we had no family to help us, and my husband, a chef, was working nights and weekends. I struggled at the end of my second pregnancy, and in the months after, with some health issues. We eventually ended up moving back to Indiana in 2016. My husband now works as a retail food manager for a hospital, where he gets to design menus but also be involved with managing employees and business operations. We are now down to one pug, our Boston/pug mix, Dixie, who is 12 and has recently had both her eyes removed due to painful degenerative issues. Our daughters are 22 months apart and are starting to be the best of friends. We also accidentally adopted a cat recently, Rory, after finding out the previous owner of our house left her.

IMG_6469.jpg

Favorite Indy Eats: Since moving to our new home I’ve become obsessed with the Geist location of Greek’s Pizzeria too. I also love Chile Verde on Pendleton Pike. For breakfast, I love Big Apple Bagels (Fishers) – a toasted everything bagel with butter, yum! For dessert, take me to The Flying Cupcake! Or maybe a morning donut at Fortville’s Sunrise Bakery.

Favorite family fun spot/activity: In the summer, I love going to splash pads like Inlow Park in Carmel. I also love venturing to Holliday Park. I wish the Lawrence/McCordsville area had more park options! Additionally we love going to Connor Prairie with friends or family.

Favorite "me-time" activity: I love to take photos, and decorate our new home. I especially love to put up décor for holidays! My guilty TV favorites are the Real Housewives, but I LOVE Game of Thrones and The Walking Dead nights with my husband as well. I also enjoy spending time with other moms at my church’s MOPS nights, where I serve as a table leader. I also serve at our church in the childcare ministry, and by updating our campus’ facebook page.

What are you reading right now? I’m currently reading a book called A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles. His earlier novel, Rules of Civility, was one of my favorites of all time. I also devour Slate’s Dear Prudence column whenever it comes out online!

Best Mom Moment: My four year old is in an amazing loving stage. She often will give me kisses and tell me she loves me so much. The other morning when I wasn’t feeling well I had her snuggle me in bed and gave her my phone to play on while I tried to wake up. She said “Mommy… you’re the best Mommy. You’re so good at sharing. You share your bed, your phone, your blankets… you’re just THE BEST!” It made my heart melt!

Career Highlight(s): I’ve received two iAwards, which was a quarterly award given out when we were a part of Stanley. It’s always an honor to be nominated for hard work that I’ve done. We had a company meeting in June to celebrate becoming dormakaba employees, and the camaraderie felt there was empowering and motivating. It’s nice to be in a positive work environment, even if it is a high stress job.

What you love about being a Hoosier? Having left and returned, I see so many positives about being a Hoosier! It’s so much friendlier here than out east or Orlando. Indianapolis is a great place to raise a family. I’m proud to be raising my kids in an area where they are surrounded by great history, but with an affordable cost of living that helps us spend more time with them and provide for them.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grow up? No lie- a professional untangler. I wanted people to bring me tangled decorations and necklaces and pay me to untangle them.

Where you want to be in 10 years? I’d love to still be here in Indy, and to have a great relationship with my kids and spouse and love who, and where we are.

My biggest mistake: I think the biggest mistake that I fall prey to all the time, is reviewing the highlights of my life and wondering what if. Living in the past, or with regrets, is so damaging. Every “mistake” got me to where I am today.

Career/Parenting advice you would like to share with other working mamas: There’s no such thing as “having it all.” Do everything the best you can that day, and don’t apologize for it. And be proud!!