Working Mama Spotlight on Tara Strohl

CGP-98.jpg

Where are you from: I'm originally from southeastern Indiana, the tiny town of Guilford.

Where do you live now: Meridian-Kessler neighborhood of Indy

Education: BA in elementary education, minor in journalism from Butler University

Career: I've taught elementary school for fifteen years and run a photography business for five years. I currently teach three days a week and photograph families as often as my schedule allows.

Family life: My husband, Sam, and I have been married since 2009 and we have three kids- Matilda, 4; Coralie, 3; Eddie, almost a year old. And one beloved labradoodle named Howard (named after our favorite Butler basketball player).

Favorite Indy Eats: Patachou, Yats, Twenty Tap, Greek's Pizzeria, Flatwater

Favorite family fun spot/activity: the Monon Trail for family runs and stops at all the midtown parks, Butler's campus, the Rivi, the Children's Museum, College Avenue library branch, our local community garden

Favorite "me-time" activity: going for a walk/run, seeing live music and going to music festivals, reading, personal photography projects, watching Fashion Police and Fixer Upper, and generally being in the sun

What are you reading right now? Right now I'm reading a book called "Minimalist Parenting," I just finished reading "The Magnolia Story" by Chip and Jojo, and I'm about to start reading "Thanks, Obama: My Hopey Changey White House Years." And for Christmas I'm asking for the new book written by Obama's chief photographer during his administration.

Best Mom Moment: Honestly, the birth of all three of my babies. They were easily and by far the most amazing experiences of my life.

Career Highlight(s): Teaching at an elementary school in Puerto Rico for two years (I LOVE the sun and surf and couldn't believe I got to live on an island in the Caribbean) and actually becoming a profitable photographer with my own business.

What you love about being a Hoosier? I love Indiana for the rolling hills in the southern parts of the state and the wonderful urban-yet-small-town city feel of Indianapolis. And I love that no matter where you travel in the United States, someone always comments on how nice Midwesterners are.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grow up? A marine biologist, then a photojournalist (after I found out just how much science I would have to take to be a marine biologist).

Where do you want to be in 10 years? Still teaching elementary children, still photographing families, and hopefully traveling much much more with my husband and kids.

My biggest mistake: Hmmm... even though I've always made very little money teaching, I probably should have tried harder to save and invest some money in my twenties.
Career/Parenting advice you would like to share with other working mamas: Over a year ago I journaled about wanting to be fully engaged with my kids and husband when I'm at home and not distracted by my work or trying to "get one last thing done." That's the advice I'd give to others, even as I'm trying my best to listen to it myself.

Connect with Tara . . .

Instagram: @tarastrohlphotography 

Facebook: Tara Strohl Photography 

Website