Working Mama Spotlight on Aleasha Rivers

IMG_2389.JPG

Where are you from: I grew up in Champaign Illinois. We just moved to Indy from Upstate New York.

Where do you live now: Southern Indianapolis

Education: I am a licensed cosmetologist, have an Associates in Early Childhood Education & Special Education, but finished my Bachelors in Business Administration and Marketing.

Career :  Currently, I am working as a salon consultant for Professional Salon Concepts. I partner with salons all across the state of Indiana and work with them on financial planning, marketing, and education. I love this job because it involves all of my interests. I have been in the beauty industry for over 10 years and have experience working in every position within a salon.

Most recently, I opened my own sunless tanning salon, BOHOBRONZE a sunless spa. It is the only BodiBronze® certified salon in the state of Indiana. It was born out of my desire to serve others; throughout my years of experience in this industry I have come to realize that making others feel beautiful is a unique way of serving. I love that in just one 20 minute appointment customers come out feeling brand new.

Not only does BOHOBRONZE serve customers by providing a beautiful experience, but I also am committed to making a direct positive impact on my community through service. A portion of the profits are donated to local charities and nonprofits. For this reason, customers can leave feeling beautiful inside AND out.

Family life: I am married to the man of my dreams, and we have two amazing little ones. Our daughter is two years old and is the comedian of the family. Our son is four months old and is the sweetest little butterball you can imagine.

It’s hard being a working mama; I can’t mother like the stay at home mom and I can’t dedicate every waking minute to my career like the career woman with no children. My life is hectic, messy, emotional, and demanding. But I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Favorite Indy Eats: Eating is my favorite sport. I can’t even think of all of my favorites; there are too many to list. But some that instantly come to mind include: Milktooth, Mesh, Fogo de Chao, and Bonefish Grill

Favorite family fun spot/activity: The Children’s Museum is great! I also love Traders Point Christian Church’s indoor park!

Favorite "me-time" activity: Hmm…I don’t get a lot of that. Probably getting out my sketch book and creating something for someone. I love giving especially when it is a piece of art work I was able to create.

What are you reading right now? Pressing Pause by Karen Ehman, Entreleadership book & podcast (my lifeline), How to Win at the Sport of Business by Mark Cuban, Why Leaders Eat Last by Simon Sinek, History Chicks (podcast), The Moth (podcast), Focus on the Family (podcast)

Best Mom Moment: I was walking into daycare to pick up my children, when I got to my daughter’s classroom her teacher told me she was next door in her younger brother’s classroom. I walked to the next room to see her gently stroking his chubby cheek saying, “mommy daddy love tus so much! Mommy at werk. daddy drivin. Mommy here soon.”

Right at that moment I knew she understands. She understands that we work to provide them with a better life. I am always trying to let her know I am working for her and for our family. Some days are harder than others to miss moments with my babes but to know my daughter understands that her parents love her and are working for her, brought tears to my eyes.

Career Highlight(s): Opening my new business and the opportunities it is providing to collaborate with other local business women.

What you love about being a Hoosier? First, I love how kind and sincere everyone in Indiana has treated my family. I have to admit I was concerned being an interracial family moving to Indiana. I wasn’t sure how welcoming people would be. I’m so happy to say that we have been welcomed by all and treated only with kindness.

Second, I LOVE being a part of Traders Point Christian Church.

Third, It is pretty great that we have an amazing basketball program, seeing that that is my family’s favorite sport. ;)

As a child, what did you want to be when you grow up? Everything. I changed my mind every minute. haha

Where you want to be in 10 years? Goal #1 I want to continue to grow my business; opening new locations around the city.

Goal #2 It has also been a goal for both my husband and I to begin a nonprofit youth center for underprivileged urban youth. We both have a heart for this specific demographic, given our life experiences. We actually met volunteering for a youth program in my hometown.

Goal #3 We want to grow our family through fostering children and even possibly adopting. This has been a dream of mine for as long as I can remember.

Career/Parenting advice you would like to share with other working mamas: Unfortunately, I did not come from a family that was financially responsible or literate. Therefore, I never learned what student debt truly meant for my future. I took out way too much in student loans and they are still affecting me to this day. I would hate for anyone to have that same burden. Debt is the biggest dream killer.

Please teach your children about money as soon as they can count (how to budget, what interest is, etc). I think so many parents miss this topic and it is incredibly valuable.

Connect with Aleasha on LinkedIn.

https://www.bohobronze.com

https://www.facebook.com/bohobronzesunless/

https://www.instagram.com/bohobronze/